Some people think that universities should provide people with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What is your opinion? What should be the main function of a university?

People have different views regarding whether educational institutions should provide academic knowlege or equip students with practical skills to secure a good job. I believe that universities should help students in acquiring practical skills because it will help them to secure jobs and to survive in the growing competition. This essay will present well-supported arguments to justify my stance. On of the most significant factor is that with the help of practical skills student can secure good job. This is because now big organization hire employee on the basis of their skills. For example, The Google has made policy to give jobs on the basis of skills. Therefore, this approach offers several benefits. Another contributing factor is the rising competition. As limited number of jobs are available. Thus, if one is not equiped with right skills chances of getting job is very low. For instance, in 2010 the government of Pakistan created 3 seats for finance manager almost fifty thousand people applied. At the end, the policy makers decided to give jobs to those who have practical skills. This further adds to my viewpoint. However, I believe that there is a big difference between academic knowledge and practical work.If universities do not focus in building skills of students there are chances that such students may fail in the growing competitive environment. In conclusion, universities should provide people with the knowledge and skills needed at the workplace because it will help them to secure jobs and survive in a competitive market. Thus,by gaining practical knowledge students can become efficent workers as well as they can also contribute to the society.