Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other public services. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other public services. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Entertainment such as arts and music is an integral part of today's community. As such it is important for the government to pay attention to this sector, as well as leveraging on other public services. In this essay, I somewhat disagree with this statement, and I will be discussing two reasons why I think investing in these is so important and definitely not futile. My reasons are, it's an income generation mechanism and promotion of togetherness, the entertainment industry, which encompasses arts, music and so on, is such an important part of society as this could lead to income generation for individuals and the government. For instance, investing in art exhibitions, showcasing curations, bringing people together, organising music shows and festivals, not only generates wealth, it also promotes togetherness. Recently, a music carnival featuring arts such as paintings was held in the city area of Edinburgh. It was such a beautiful sight to behold, as this brought different people from various works of life. Tickets were sold out, and this generated lots of income for organisers and the people, thus attracting investors to venture into entertainment like this. Looking at how this brings happiness and generates wealth, I would disagree that, the government investing on this, would be a waste of funds. However, while the government can still spend funds on other public businesses, arts and music should not be considered a futility as it has these advantages that would lead to the brighter side of promoting the economy. To conclude, in my opinion, I disagree, that it will be a total waste of money for goverment to spend their money on arts and music, rather, the people and goverment should see this, as an opportunity to grow the economy through this means of entertainment