In many places large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Shopping nowadays has received a range of attention in modern society. In many areas, large shopping centres are dominating the small stores currently. This essay will provide the benefits and drawbacks of this statement. On the one hand, enormous shopping malls bring a variety of merits. First and foremost, it increases the rate of consumption because shopping malls usually have numerous different brands. It will attract the attention of individuals who have fast paced life and prefer the convenient since they can buy lots of items in one place instead of going to different destinations, such as small shops. Moreover, it method creates long-term cooperation between the places and individual stores within. This is because many shopping malls tend to have cooperation policies towards the brands, which not only increases the prestige of the malls but also attracts lots of local customers and foreign clients to visit, whereas rental shops tend to face high taxes and can hardly cope with the changes of market due to the lack of financial. Therefore, the malls eventually achieve mutual coordination, which helps increase the profits. On the other hand, the rise of large shopping malls can reduce the traditional market. To illustrate, many places in Vietnam strengthen the urbanisation by building many shopping malls in order to cooperate with foreign brands, whereas the old and ancient groceries of the native country have been demolished, it eventually catches up a lot of attention from customers but loses the valuable tradition of Vietnamese cultures. This is because people tend to follow the innovation to adapt to the changes of the global world currently without realizing the decline of small shops will lose the diversity in native culture. In conclusion, establishing large shopping malls is a double-edged sword, it can attract more customers, create long-term cooperation, and increase the profit. However, it will reduce the traditional value of the places. Therefore, people have to weigh up pros and cons in order to maintain the traditional and adapt to the changes.