The internet has made possible for everybody to read anything online for free. This will make it unnecessary to pay for printed materials such as books or newspapers in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The internet has made it possible for everybody to access online material for free. However, the crucial question is whether online materials will make it unnecessary to pay for printed materials such as books or newspapers in the future. Personally, I partially disagree with this view and believe that there is a need to have both digital and hard copies as some people still rely on printed copies in certain situations. To begin with, the integration of the internet into our lives has significantly revolutionized how people search for information using the digital resources. Nowadays, it is easy to access a wide range of online materials instantly, and people do not need to go to libraries or purchase printed books. For example, accessing academic resources have become very convenient to university students, they have full access to their e-books and published articles through the internet at any time. As a result, we recognize that the online education has been increasingly spread and most higher education ministries have approved distance learning because it provides students with learning outcomes comparable to those earned through traditional learning. However, textbooks are necessary for some older people for several reasons. They believe that printed materials help them to concentrate better because they cannot focus on screen for a long period of time. For instance, some lawyers depend on printed records to review clients' files instead of looking at e-files. This is because it is easier for them to go through them smoothly. Consequently, the use of hard copies is still necessary for certain individuals and cannot be completely replaced by online materials. To conclude, I admit that the internet has been widespread significantly and became the dominant practice to retrieve data. Although, it cannot be completely outweigh the needs for printed documents to fulfill the necessities of some individuals who prefer them over digital resources.