Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinion as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagrees with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is an irrefutable fact that the company of the right person has a significant impact on an individual’s life. While some people argue that it is more beneficial to have friends with the same views than companions who disagree on certain aspects of life. I totally disagree with the latter view because friends with different mindsets may enhance cognitive ability and bring excitement in life. This essay will analyse my views using relevant examples to prove my arguments. On the one hand, friends with the same beliefs can reduce complications and help make decisions faster by agreeing with a person’s views. To illustrate further, humans often make a decision instantly or choose an option quickly if they receive a positive response on a particular option out of numerous options. To exemplify, girls who go shopping with friends, who have similar choices on clothing and their designs, often finalise their dresses faster than if they go alone. Therefore, a company of people with the same opinions saves plenty of time. On the other hand, people with disagreements on some aspects broaden their friends ’ horizons by presenting a different opinion. To clarify, due to a colleague’s different opinion, a person feels the need to explore other available options, which results in increasing their knowledge and experience. For example, if a person gets contradictory reviews from his or her mates on a mobile phone before buying it, he or she will look around other brands’ phones. This will increase knowledge about phones. Furthermore, conflicting opinions often make conversation exciting and making choices based on different thoughts brings positive vibes in a friendship. In conclusion, although people strongly contend that like-minded thoughts have greater benefits, I believe friends with different or opposite viewpoints are vitally important. They will not only bring a positive energy to the relationship but also provide opportunities to obtain more knowledge.