Some people believe that not all criminals should be kept in prison, but that some of them should be allowed to do unpaid work to help the community.

There has always been a debate about whether prisoners should take part in unpaid community services while they are still in jail. Despite some criticisms about the potential risk, I maintain that criminals should be allowed to do some work. Prisons should not be a place only to lock people in and forbidden all kinds of activities, instead, it should provide prisoners some learning opportunities. Allowing criminals to devote in the community not only benefits the society, but also serves as a good chance for them to cultivate. For instance, each prison in Taiwan has its own feature, be it handmade soybean sauce, chocolate cookie or soap. All prisoners in the jail have a specific time each week to gather and make these items. By learning during the handmake process, prisoners get to learn skills such as baking, wrapping or even promoting. Once the products were finished, they would be sold to the public. These unpaid works are a part of the entertainment for those in jail, and it also offer prisoners skills to learn. Additionally, community services also plays a vital role in the criminals’ socialization. To be more specific, participating in all kinds of activities can help them to interact with more people. For example, some jail chorus can perform in special occasions in holidays such as Christmas. Through this process, they can rebuild their communication skills and learn how to behave appropriately in social events. As a result, they may find it easier to return the society after they are released. To conclude, I believe allowing prisoners to take part in unpaid community works a sensible way to benefit both offenders themselves and the society. It provides prisoners with more opportunities to learn and also assists in their socialization, preventing the isolate feelings while in jail.