Films and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people believe that they negatively affect society and should be banned, while others consider them harmless forms of relaxation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, movies and computer games that contain violent content have become increasingly popular all over the world. Some people argue that such entertainment has a harmful impact on society and therefore it should be prohibited, while others believe that this is harmless and a great way to relax. This essay will discuss both views before explaining why these kinds of films should be regulated rather than banned. On the one hand, many people think that they have numerous negative influences on an individual’s mental well-being, especially children and teenagers. They often imitate what they watch on screen. Additionally, many young people have a tendency to learn harmful aspects rather than positive attitudes. Furthermore, excessive consumption of violent media may contribute to fear, anxiety and antisocial behaviour. For example, children might fear staying in the dark, or they might break the law or commit a crime, which are disadvantageous not only for themselves, but also for society. For these reasons, some people argue that banning such content is necessary to protect society. On the other hand, violent games and films are a great way to relax and do not lead to violent behaviour. The vast majority of individuals watch them to entertain after a hectic and busy day. In addition, there are many people who are not influenced by violent scenes. Moreover, some games help to improve problem-solving abilities, strategic thinking, and hand-eye coordination. Rather than banning violent content, governments can introduce age restrictions to ensure that unsuitable material is kept away from children while allowing adults to make their own choices. In conclusion, although violent films and computer games may negatively influence young audiences, I believe they should not be prohibited entirely. Effective regulation, parental supervision and age-appropriate restrictions are more practical solutions than at banning system.