Some people think that strict punishment for driving offences is key to reducing traffic accidents. Others however believe that other measures would improve road safety. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is an irrefutable fact that road accidents have become a growing concern in recent years. While some people argue that a strong punishment is the most effective solution to reduce traffic accidents, others reject this notion and emphasise other ways to enhance road safety. I totally agree with the former view because the traffic safety guidelines are more effective when drivers take them seriously due to the fear of punishment.

Many people are of the view that revamping the traffic system and developing road infrastructure may help reduce road crashes. To elaborate, installation of traffic lights at shorter intervals can be an effective way to minimise the chances of overspeeding, which is one of the prominent reasons for causing road collisions. Furthermore, repairing potholes, which more often cause road accidents, can be a prudent strategy to improve road safety. However, I disagree with this view because all efforts are more likely to be in vain if vehicle drivers neglect their civic sense and ignore public safety while are driving.

I take the side of the people who support the perspective that a stronger punishment will play a significant role in reducing vehicle accidents on roads. Rash driving, drink and drive, and crossing the red light are some major reasons for hitting people walking or driving on roads. A stern punishment for these offences will create fear among people, and they will pay serious attention to traffic rules. To exemplify, in countries such as the UAE have implemented heavy penalties and loss of driving license for violating traffic rules, which resulted in making people driving carefully and the number of road accidents have drastically decreased. Thus, a harsh punishment is a more effective solution to minimise road accidents.

In conclusion, although some people strongly argue that improving road conditions and installing more traffic lights could be a vital step to avoid traffic accidents, I believe taking strict legal action against traffic rule violators will be a more prudent way to deal with this problem.