Some people think that printed books are not necessary in the digital era, as all writing can be stored electronically. Others believe that printed books still play an important role in our lives. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no denying the fact that printed books is still utilised nowadays in schools and libraries. While it is a commonly held belief that they are not important in today's digitalised generation, as books can be downloaded easily. Others firmly hold the view that printed books still have a vital role in our daily lives. One one hand, critics of printed books often point that there is no purpose of it with the technological advancements these days. Which effectively means the whole book could be put in a PDF that does not require finance. In addition, storing electronically saves weight and space, instead of carrying a heavy book to university or a library, you just need a personal device to download the book in it. A clear example of this can be seen in modern colleges where the majority of students have laptops with them that has 7-10 digital slides of their courses, a decade ago, learners suffer from heavy books that contains 500 pages. On the other hand, printed books are more practical and convenient. This is largely because we could highlight an important sentence in the page, also some professors are still used to them and feel uncomfortable with technology. Furthermore, in order to use digital books, a device is required, and not all students have the financial ability to purchase it. For instance, a recent study in Japan revealed that 70 percent of university pursuers took a long-term loan to attend college. Consequently, transforming to electronic books is not beneficial unless laptop grants are given to students. In conclusion, there is no straightforward answers to the presented question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that original books are essential in our lives because it is affordable.