Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when traveling, etc.). Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the rapid development of technology nowadays, remote working has become increasingly prevalent. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this trend and explain why I believe the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. Admittedly, remote working makes the boundary between work and life more vague. Since the internet can connect people all over the world, people can work at any place and any time by using digital devices. For instance, when an employer requires an urgent meeting, they can arrange an online meeting immediately without the need of actual presence. However, this may result in people being forced to work during their holidays or trip. Despite the downsides remote working may cause, I believe the advantages of remote working are more significant than the disadvantages. Remote working makes working and learning more convenient and accessible. For instance, during the pandemic in 2020, schools switched to online classes. This enabled students to keep learning and ensured their health at the same time. Remote working also allowed people remain working and being paid. Thus, during that period, the world was still operating and the financial situation was relatively more stable than it should have been. In conclusion, although the development of remote working occasionally blurs the line between people ’s work and life, I believe the convenience and efficiency that remote working provides outweigh the drawbacks.