Crime rates will fall as advances in technology make it easier to detect and prevent crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, crime has become a major problem in society. It is argued that technological advances can detect and prevent crimes, leading to a fall of crime rates. Although I partly agree that the digital breakthrough can deliver a prevention of crimes, it does not reduce crime and may lead to cybercrime. On the one hand, technology serves as a crime deterrent and may prevent crimes. This is caused by a development of many systems, which detect any crime, leading to the lowered level of crime. For example, high-tech surveillance cameras or facial recognition discourage people from committing crimes due to the high risk of being caught. As a result, individuals are less likely to engage in criminals, and also allowing to detect offenders. Furthermore, digital tools can improve crime -solving rates. By using the advances in DNA analysis, digital forensics, and ballistic testing, people can investigate criminals, which helps them to exonerate the innocent, reducing wrongful convictions. Therefore, technology plays a crucial role in investigations, and it discourages people to commit crimes. On the other hand, the advancements in technology can not address the root causes of criminal behaviour. The crimes often caused by the underlying issues, such as poverty, social inequality, and lack of education. It means that these problems can be solved by a governmental intervention, but not by technological devices. In turn, crime rates may not significantly drop, which does not solve this issue. Moreover, cybercrime acts as a growing threat due to a wider range of devices, so do the methods of committing crimes online. Cybercrime, including hacking, identity theft, is on the rise, allowing criminals to engage in criminal activities against vulnerable individuals. As a result, technology advances are often related to cybercrime, and can not actually tackle the issue of crime rates. In conclusion, although technology may has several drawbacks, such as online crime, I firmly believe it brings benefits by detecting crimes and helping to investigate.