Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no denying the fact that sugary drinks consumption lead to serious illness that includes obesity and diabetes. However, there is ongoing debate regarding whether the state should charge its citizens for unhealthy food, or others think it is unessentail to do so. I firmly believe that introducing such act in the society is crutial in order to reduce healthcare burden in the country. In terms of imposing sugar and fat taxation in the unhealthy food items, it is intial step toward changing individual behaviors for better healthy lifestyle. The main reason given to support this claim is that people will tend rethink twice before purchasing taxed food items, and therefore search for best organic options. For example, a recent study, in the UK, demonstrated that after applying the sugar levy the people perferred alternative cheaper choices with less sugar and fas such as in soft drinks and eating items at supermarkets. Therefore, this practice has a "nudging" effect toward healthier life of people. On the other hand, it can been argued that implementing extra charges on food is unjustfied by the goverments. This is because this legislation will create more finincial pressures on disadvantged families. In the other words, they required to pay extra for their children and family memebers. In addition, goverments should focus for other solutions, for instance through health promotion and health education. Thus, the community to be empowered and aware about well-being. To sum up, I stongly believe that goverments should start leving sugary drinks and unhealthy food, as this action will alarm the citzens to choose the best for their nutrition. Also, this will reduce the health care service pressure in the country.