Nowadays, more people are working from home instead of travelling to an office. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The importance of working from home, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. The substantial influence of this trend has sparked the controversy over the potential impact in recent years. This essay will further elaborate both positive and negative effects of this trend and thus will lead to a logical conclusion. There are myriad of reasons which will further explain this argument but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that employees can save a considerable amount of time and money by avoiding daily travel to their workplaces. Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that working from home provides employees with greater flexibility and allows them to spend more time with their families. Needless to say, all these merits stand in a good stead. However, there are some pitfalls that negate these arguments and which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of this trend but one of the most alarming ones is that employees may feel socially isolated because they have fewer opportunities to interact with their colleagues. Basically, working from home may also create distractions and reduce concentration, particularly when employees have family members around them. Hence, it is apparent why many are against this trend. According to the arguments mentioned above, one can reach to a conclusion that the benefits of working from home are instrumental indeed. Nevertheless, its potential drawbacks should not be overlooked either.