Some parents buy their children a lot of toys to play with.What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

In many families, children are provided with a considerable number of toys, such as traditional dolls, cars and electronic games. Although having a wide range of toys supports children ’s development and serves to entertain them, lots of toys may also have negative consequences. In this essay, I will touch on both the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. To begin with, having many toys can contribute to a child’s not only cognitive, but also creative development. Different types of toys encourage children to develop their different skills, which reflects itself in their general comprehension and outlook by playing legos, puzzles and building blocks. For example, while these kinds of toys enhance problem solving skills and logical thinking, art- painting or drawing stimulates the creativity and imagination. Additionally, by having lots of toys, children have the right to opt for various activities according to their interest, being independent and confident in making decisions. Furthermore, with the help of having a number of toys, children can share them with others and accelerate communication skills. On the other hand, an excessive number of toys may have some disadvantages, too. First of all, when children have too many options to choose toys, they tend to concentrate hardly or distract easily. Moreover, they may quickly lose their interest and move from one to another. The next drawback is that having a lot of of toys may cause less appreciation of their belongings and become spoilt. By playing with too many toys, children can create a messy environment, which makes it harder for them to organize their possessions. In conclusion, possessing a plethora of toys can benefit children by boosting creativity and cognitive abilities, whereas may reduce concentration and lack of appreciation.