Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people’s lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The global fashion trends are admitted to drive the way we are dressing nowadays. The hype is quickly adapted by the younger generation, particularly through an excitement to follow their favourite celebrity or public figures. However, the other older generation tends to stay dressed in their comfortable way. This could be describe by maintaining a timeless wardrobe, while still adjusting with the global trends to present properly in a certain occasion. Following the prior ideas of the world’s clothing behave, people usually didn’t realize that this is actually a general phenomenon. The popularity instead, is usually led by a trendsetter, which came from the fashion industry itself. For example, when a celebrity appeared with an unusual style, it was prepared by her stylist behind it. This could be from the best recommendation from the several top performing stylist, which was cited then by the media, namely Harper’s Bazaar, Vague, and so forth. Once their appearance raised public attention, then the community will started to follow and it affecting their lives afterwards. To arrive on a deeper view, we should assess the specific part of how the fashion has been influencing people. If the clothing contradicts with their faith, it was a bad influence. In my opinion, in Islam, the women are not allowed to appear their body parts in public. But when Moslem women tends to do it through how the trends shaped them, the global fashion trends then is driving negatively. That’s why I would say this as a drawbacks of development. In conclusion, the influence of fashion in our lives are really depends on our preference. As a part of community, we should respect how the others are dressed and pick our style wisely.