The best way to reduce the number of traffic accidents is to raise the age limit for younger drivers and lower the age limit for elderly ones. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether age restrictions should be changed or not. While a significant number of people argue that the eligibility age of having a driver's licence should increase for young drivers and decrease for older people, I strongly agree with this statement because adolescents often don't have a sense of responsibility at an early age, and a variety of illnesses prevent senior citizens from driving carefully. On the one hand, driving a car requires great consideration and responsibility, whereas young people often don't have these abilities due to great excitement. This is because they often ignore basic rules by breaking the speed limits, threatening other drivers' and pedestrians' lives. For instance, in the USA, sixteen years old is enough to have a driver's licence, whereas Europe regulated this limit as eighteen years old because they wanted to take a precaution to reduce the number of traffic accidents. Therefore, these regulations play a crucial role in increasing road safety by raising the age limit for adolescents who often make irreversible mistakes with their cars. On the other hand, while senior citizens have equal rights to drive, they often suffer from severe illness problems, such as vision and hearing issues, preventing them from driving. When they are driving with a vision problem, they cannot keep a safe distance from the car in front of them. To illustrate, in Turkey, people who are older than sixty-five years old must take a test that evaluates whether their performance is eligible to drive or not. Thus, these age limits can provide safer solutions not only for senior citizens but also for other drivers, protecting them, rather than restricting older people's freedom. In conclusion, although some people believe that age restrictions should be expanded to cover a variety of ages, I firmly maintain that driving is a task that requires responsibility and good health. While there are some considerations for regulations that intervene in people's freedom, these restrictions ensure road safety and a reduction in traffic accidents.