ome people think that the study of history is of little use . Others believe that studying history helps us to know the present. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

While the study of history may seem of little importance or relevance to some, for others it is valuable and necessary to understand our present. In this essay, I will address the main reasons of both positions before giving my personal opinion. On one hand, those who argue that the study of history does not matter much are often individuals who underestimate historical processes, because these events delegitimize changes and regimes they support today. For example, a person who supports a dictatorship will argue that it does not matter if people have died or democracy has not been respected since today we do not have a communist regime, a very common position in right-wing parties such as the Republican and the Libertarian. In this regard, much of the retrograde ideologies focus on omitting or exacerbating facts in history without an objective or contextualized perspective, where there is clearly a lack of rigor when analyzing certain prose in history. On the other hand, those who emphasize the importance of studying and understanding history point out that a critical and anachronistic perspective is necessary to analyze and discuss contemporary processes. Much of what we are experiencing today is the result of great political, social and cultural battles, and it is necessary to know about it in order to have an opinion today. I think it is important to have a retrospective look at certain historical events in order to be a subject capable of criticizing and expressing an opinion on issues of contemporary society. Furthermore, many sensationalist and ignorant opinions stem from a lack of knowledge regarding past events, where the context is insufficient or even contradictory to validate their position. To conclude, the study of history is more than situating itself in a period in the timeline with battles heroes and martyrs, is above all crucial to understand and have a solid opinion about current moments since great revolutions and ideologies arose claiming the past.