In many countries, governments pay education fees for children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an ongoing debate about whether children's education bills should be paid by governments or not. While there are some drawbacks, such as placing a considerable economic burden on governments, I strongly believe that the upsides of having kids' fees paid by governments, such as equal access to education regardless of family income, can far outweigh the downsides. This essay will elaborate on both sides and my position with relevant arguments and examples. On the one hand, one of the main advantages of having education fees paid by governments is that free education ensures each citizen to get proper education, which has considerable benefits in the long term. When they go to schools, they can comprehend traffic rules and raise awareness environmental issues. To illustrate, in Finland, where education is fully funded by the government, schools place strong emphasis on subjects such as road safety and environmental studies, contributing to the country's consistently high levels of civic awareness among young people. As a result, they can become careful drivers and develop a sense of responsibility about the environment, when education becomes affordable. On the other hand, paying school fees is more likely to place a strain on government budgets, which has significant downsides for other industries, such as healthcare. The government often feels under pressure to pay an enormous amount of money for children's education, preventing them from investing in healthcare. To illustrate, in Turkey, although education is free for elementary schools, the healthcare system suffers from the lack of resources. Thus, prioritising free education can indirectly limit a government's ability to fund other critical public services. In conclusion, although some feel that there are some downsides of the bills, I firmly maintain that ensuring free education for all kids has great benefits, such as reducing the number of traffic accidents and building a concrete mindset for the environment. These upsides far outweigh the downsides because raising a responsible generation for the rules and the environment is better than a financial burden.