There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantagesfor couples who decide to do this.

Nowadays, it is common for married people to not have children. I opine that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, and therefore I will discuss both sides and give my reasons why in this essay. First of all, raising kids can bring financial difficulties among adults. That is because parents are obliged to support their children until adulthood. Thus, having a kid even when you can comfortably earn an amount of money that can facilitate you, can lead to financial drainage after some time. Raising a baby could bring monetary hardships from the very beginning, starting with childbirth, up until the kid reaches adulthood. For example, parents choosing the right hospital for a safe process of giving birth, buying all the necessities for the infant such as new clothes, pacifiers, sheets, and diapers, and paying for the medical treatments both for the mother and the infant can cost at least 1000 American Dollars. However, couples deciding not to have children can contribute to the matter of population collapse. Due to some individual’s personal decisions, it can have an impact on broader society, like some countries experiencing mass unemployment or even a failure in innovation. A study conducted by the University of Hong Kong in 2010 shows that as young couple decide not to leave their offspring has now led to a decline in the education sector since there are less kids to attend middle school. Thus, leaving the teachers unemployed, making the unemployment rate greater than before. As a conclusion, I have written on the statement of couples deciding not to raise children and given the aforementioned points, it is fair to conclude, although raising kids can be costly, not having them can be an even greater threat to society.