Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermatkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

In recent years, numerous small, local shops have been closing due to the competition with large supermarkets, as they do not have the potential to compete with them. This essay will explore how this phenomenon affects local citizens and suggest how this situation could be improved.

It is obvious that the loss of small markets has negative outcomes for individuals. Firstly, their closing is able to affect families’ budgets adversely, as families have to go to the supermarkets, where overpriced products are commonplace. Secondly, supermarkets are usually located in the city centre, so citizens who live far from the centre, have to spend petrol and fuel, which also blows their budget. In addition, local products, which are absolutely natural and were grown in the owners’ gardens, are usually sold in small shops. In the case of their loss, people miss the opportunity to buy natural products.

To tackle this issue, the owners of these shops are able to make prices more affordable compared to the supermarkets. Likewise, they can suggest discounts on certain types of food, for example, on dairy products. This suggestion is likely to increase the interest of the consumers immediately. Moreover, it will be much more beneficial if small shops are opened in certain areas, which are far from the city centre, as there will be no competition. The customers would prefer to purchase products from the market, which is near their house, rather than in supermarkets in the city centre.

In conclusion, the closing of local shops has significant effects on local people’s lives, including a blow to the budget and the probability of losing good local products. However, by changing the location of these shops and making prices more affordable compared to the supermarkets, local small shops could tackle this issue immediately.