In the 21st century, contact between many different parts of the world has developed rapidly through air travel and telecommunications. What are the advantages and the disadvantages?

Travelling by plane and radiocommunications have developed connections between numerous parts of the world, swiftly, in this century. They bring various benefits, such as sharing cultures, increasing open border business, etc, and also carry some demerits, like increasing pollution and destroying local cultures. These are described below.

On the one hand, air journeys and mobile phones have increased the culture sharing rates among the global people. Many individuals, nowadays, travel easily to any other place within a short period of time, and they get an easy chance to share their cultures with each other. As a result, it increases the chances of building healthy relationships. Moreover, easy communication has increased the chance of international open-border business. Therefore, the rates of imports and exports are increasing day by day, as well as increasing the chance of getting jobs. For example, one research carried out at the University of Dhaka showed that, due to the open markets, and good communications, Bangladesh is earning 15 times more money, compared to the previous century.

On the other hand, moving by air is increasing the pollution in the atmosphere. As they consume a huge amount of fuel, the release rate of greenhouse gases has increased almost double compared to the last century, as shown by IPCC, 2014. Furthermore, due to the easy travelling, people are now reaching easily to the remote places. Due to this reason, the pollution is increasing in the local areas also. Furthermore, due to the high share of cultures, in some cases, people are losing their own unique customs. For instance, some Australian citizens do not speak their native languages, and do not wear their traditional dresses. They speak in English and wear Western dresses as well.

In conclusion, easy connections between many publics with the different parts of the globe increase the chances to build up good relationships and business. Although these quick movements provide some drawbacks, like pollution and the chances of losing cultures, the benefits of easy communications outweigh the demerits.