Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses?

Some individuals have changed their ways of transportation by reducing or cancelling flights in their plans. This decision would bring both pros and cons to their personal life as well as to society. Generally, I believe the advantages for environmental protection it brought could not outweigh the drawbacks because these could also damage their life or the commerce.

Certainly, reducing aircraft usage would definitely cut off the emission of air pollutants, such as carbon dioxide, which surely have positive impacts on our air quality. As a result, the greenhouse effect would slow down because of the decrease in pollutant accumulation in the atmosphere. Therefore, this turnover would contribute significantly to environmental protection on Earth. For example, many rich businessmen usually take a private jet for daily commuting, which could save their time and give them privacy, but use huge amount of gas for a few people. Therefore, as glamorous celebrities, they often promise to change their lifestyle to a low-carbon lifestyle by taking another way of transportation. such as cars or trains.

However, on the other hand, the disadvantages that are brought would definitely change their life and the business forever, which could be worthless to some extent. For example, a famous movie star would like to participate in an event in another country. Because of considering the air pollution of flight, he takes a ship to go across the ocean, which takes him weeks on the sea. This would reduce his business activity significantly and would indeed harm his career. I think he should reduce their private jet flight instead of totally cancelling the flight travelling.

In conclusion, unnecessary of flight travel should be reduced to protect our environment. But completely stop using the flight as an efficient tool for international travelling is illogical and inefficient. Because the disadvantages could cause problems which cannot be outweighed by its advantages.