In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is a common phenomonem that people living in the suburbs are moving to the urban area in many countries around the world, leading the population to decline in the countryside, which is most likely caused by social fators like the uneven distribution of opportunities and resources. I consider that this development will cause negative effect in the future. Hence, we ought to take measures to counter such a social trend.

First of all, in terms of the causes of the problem, people move to urban area to pursue more job oppurtunities or better education. I've met many people come to cities because their universities or the companies they're working for are in cities. Then, it forms a cycle and causes demands and supplies in labor market to be significantly ahigher than the suburbs. In result, people are forced to move to cities to get job oppurtunities. Furthermore, cities often own convenient transport and comprehensive ammenities. Capitals and cities are goverment's first priority when it comes to investment. Therefore, urban areas always own more ammenities than the rural areas, which attracts more people moving in.

However, with more and more people moving to cities, the uneven distribution of wealth and resources will deteriorate, and the countries will face problems like declining in birth rate and aging population. In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is a negative phenomenom in the long term for the countries.