In some cities public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegatables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Free places and social parks are transforming into gardens in a proportion of cities, where citizens are allowed to plant their personal fruits and vegetables. This essay will examine the merits and drawbacks of this trend and figure out which one outweighs the other

Initially, private growing will notably increase the availability of food, and reduce reliance on supermarkets; the primary reason being that households will be sufficient from fruits and vegetables. In addition, as small plants grow, they will become large trees that consumes carbon dioxide, which is beneficial for the environment, as it reduces temperatures. A clear example of this can be seen in Riyadh, where recent statistics from the University of Sultan revealed that the average temperatures in Riyadh dropped by 6-7 degrees, as a result to the massive planting of fruits and vegetables.

However, some individuals may do selfish actions, such as dominating all the open gardens given to citizens, and use it for their own interest; to put it differently, there will be significant unfairness in the distribution of free gardens among people. Moreover, this indirectly affects the economy negatively; to illustrate, small and medium shops will suffer because all consumers are being independent and grow their own vegetables and fruits. For instance, massive shop closures are observed in Paris after the ministries council decided to change public parks to free gardens.

In conclusion, although this transformation may cause some economic and social issues, I firmly believe that individual independence in receiving nutrition is a substantial advantage that benefits residents.