Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.”

Some people think that children should not make their own choices because they may become selfish. However, other people think that children should make decisions about things that affect them. This essay will discuss both views and give my opinion.

On the one hand, children making their own choices can have some disadvantages. If children always choose what they want, they may think only about themselves. For example, a child may want to eat sweets every day or watch television for many hours. This can make children less responsible and they may not listen to their parents. Therefore, parents should control some choices to teach children good behaviour.

On the other hand, children should have some opportunities to make decisions. This can help them become more independent and confident. For example, parents can allow children to choose their clothes or decide what food they want to eat sometimes. In this way, children can learn how to make simple decisions and understand the results of their choices.

In conclusion, children making their own choices can have both advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, children should be allowed to make some decisions, but parents should give them suitable limits and guidance.