In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The emergence of driverless vehicles in this modern age is not surprising news at all. Likewise, in the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be autonomous and independent self-driving. I firmly believe that the benefits of driverless vehicles outweigh the drawbacks.

Firstly, driverless vehicles are operated automatically by the computer system rather than human drivers. Actually, most car accidents involve an element of human error. For example, people who are behind the wheel while tired, drunk or distracted make mistakes because of being human. If AI is doing the driving, these problems cannot exist. According to annual global road crash statistics, on average, around 3000 people die each day from road accidents. Therefore, using autonomous vehicles can enhance road safety and reduce human errors. Additionally, it can also eliminate distractions and operate consistently.

Secondly, from the point of view of traffic and economic efficiency, autonomous vehicles create smoother traffic flow, increase lane capacity and operate continuously without human drivers. Thus, implementing autonomous vehicles can reduce the requirement of human resources and allow people to work efficiently and effectively in areas where they are needed more.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to adapting autonomous vehicles. It is the product of advanced technology and an integrated system, the primary cost and repair cost will be higher than ever. Due to the replacement of human drivers, the jobless and unemployment rate will increase.

In conclusion, it is obvious that the main merits of driverless vehicles are increased road safety and travel efficiency, while the principal drawbacks are job displacement and higher cost. Overall, by considering benefits and drawbacks thoroughly, its advantages outweigh the disadvantages either financially or socially. The future is likely to be all about automated transport with safe driverless roads.