Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, a growing population is seeking help from alternative medicines and treatments rather than seeking help from their usual doctors. I view it as a negative development for several reasons. This essay will discuss some of those in detail.

Despite the claims, these alternative options are largely unproven. A lot of these options have no reseach, which back their claims. In many cases, there are non-existent case-control studies or if there are any, these are not reviewed by the scientific community. Therefore, we don't know the veracity of their claims. Another equally important aspect is that there are so many branches which come under the umbrella term of alternative medicine. There is Chinese medicine, Greek medicine, Eastern medicine and Homeopathic medicine, yet there are no established regulatory agencies in most countries. In other words, there are no safety protocols in place.

If alternative medicine is not the magic solution, then why people are rushing for its help. The answer to this question is not complicated. The number one reason is the negative propaganda against traditional healthcare, which has become a lot easier to propagate with the social media. On these platforms, unqualified people spew totally unbased claims against effective and proven therapies. These same people propose public these 'safer alternatives'. These people prevented millions of common people from getting COVID vaccines and probably were indirectly responsible for deaths of at least hundred of thousands. The second reason is that the concept of 'incurable' does not exist in this alternate universe. When doctors tell someone that your disease has progressed to an incurable stage, they are extremely vulnerable. They are desperate and these alternate medicine practioners take full advantage of it.

In conclusion, I view people's trend of seeking alternative medicines and treatment as a negative trend. They are unproven, have no checks and balances and governments have the responsibility to regulate it.