All university undergraduate courses should include a period of time spent studying abroad or doing a work placement. Do you think the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages?

It is an increasingly widespread debate that all university undergraduate courses should include a period of time spent studying abroad or doing a work replacement. I firmly believe that students should spend time studying abroad or doing an internship before graduate since it not only allows younger people to develop practical skills, but also making students to be more independent.

On one hand, in terms of the benefits, studying abroad or doing a work replacement offers some benefits. Firstly, studying in other countries or going to work means student should be responsible for decisions they make, since they need to tackle with problems on their own. For instance, undergraduates need to pay for rents and do houseworks individually when studying abroad. Consequently, if university courses give students a chance to study in other countries or to do a work replacement for a period of time, they can accomplish works and daily routines independently.

Apart from that, younger people are able to foster communication and practical skills, and also broaden their horizens when turning to activities other than courses given by universities. In my observation, half of my classmates exchange in other countries for one or two semester, and most of them have acknowledged various values that different cultures cherish, and learned how to communicate with people from different countries.

It can't be denied that learning in the campus help undergraduates to foster skills like critical thinking, problem-solving skills, and research abilities. The goal of higher education is making people to have abilities to solve problems that happened in the society by researching and analyzing. Nevertheless, only focusing on a specific field may shorten students ' insights and decrease younger people's employabilities under this competitive job market.

To sum up, after weighing the merits and drawbacks of the issue, I stand for the claim that university courses should include a period of time spent studying abroad or doing a work placement. Despite the positive implications that university undergraduate courses brings, stepping outside allow young people to discover the world and their interests on their own, while fostering communication and practical skills at the same time