Some people argue that primary schools focus too much on formal learning. To what extent do you agree with this opinion? How important do you think it is for children to play as well as learn in the primary school classroom? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a perspective that some adults complain that some primary schools only concentrate on academic studies. I totally understand this complaint, and I fully agree with it. I believe that playing is still more important for pupils of primary school than academic learning.

Many parents and teachers have forced their children, or students, to spend tons of time studying when they are still young, as primary schoolers. This is because they believe a great performance in academic courses allows their children are able to enter a good secondary school and finally makes them successful in the future. For example, many parents are so anxious about the grades of their kids rather than the behaviours in school. They think good grades could make their kids successful in coping with all the problems they will be facing in future. As a result, many young people become depressed or have psychological illnesses throughout their entire life, because of the misleading nature of this view.

In fact, as a pupil in primary schools, playing is still a great way of learning, which is able to polish their decent habits, build suitable behaviors and most importantly, deal with difficulties and problems. These personalities can help them to handle complex plans and make decisions wisely, and they would use these problem-solving techniques daily when they become older. For instance, kids could learn how to play a useful role in a team by playing some group games, such as playing football. Therefore, in my opinion, students of primary schools should participate in many game activities and play a variety of activities.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the view that certain schools focus too much on formal studying in primary education. I fully believe that playing in primary school is beneficial for most of the young students who need social skills rather than those academic scores.