Nowadays, it is easier for young people to have a credit card compared to the past. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, it is undeniable that financial institutions mostly try to bring young customers to make a profit. Some individuals believe that these days, young people can easily get a credit card from financial institutions more easily than before. I believe this trend has more advantages than disadvantages, and I will explain my thoughts with some reasons to provide support for them.

On the one hand, young people will understand the value of money. To illustrate, when youngsters spend the money from a credit card, then they will have to pay it back in some time period, and this responsibility will teach them the importance of money. Furthermore, they will mature early when they have to make money to pay their credit bills. For instance, as per a recent report of the Department by the Indian Finance Department, youngsters do not waste their money in shopping or games anymore because they spend their money on things where they can make money, because they do not want to pay credit bills from their pockets.

On the other hand, these credit cards can be a double-edged sword for some youngsters because they can spend that money in gambling or casinos or in illegal activities. To clarify, when folks get easy money at an early age, they usually get distracted, and make bad people friend by, which they enter in crime world. For example, one of the Indian Bollywood actors, Sanjay Dutt, said in an interview that he went to prison because he started getting money in early age, when he should have been playing with his friends. Thus, credit cards could be dangerous for youngsters.

In conclusion, although credit cards can persuade some youngsters to do illegal activities while other youngsters can understand their responsibilities at an early age and the value of money. Thus, the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages.