Nowadays, children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time being active or creative. What is the reason for this? What measures should be taken to encourage children to be more active?

One of the most pressing issues in recent years is whether children spend excessive time on watching TV, compared with the past. I consider that this trend is attributable to the development of technology and eye-catching content on digital media. To tackle this issue, governments should involve teachers and parents to regulate screen time for children and allocate more time to regular physical exercise.

To begin with, there are several reasons why children are exposed to watching TV rather than engaging in physical activities. Firstly, a sedentary lifestyle has a significant effect on children. This is mainly because children can easily be influenced by adults' lifestyles. Nowadays, a growing number of individuals tend to watch TV without doing a wide range of activities, such as hiking, swimming, and camping. Such lifestyles can play an essential role in shaping children's behaviours and habits. For example, on weekends, most families are likely to stay at home and do not make any plans to do creative activities with their children. Therefore, if parents are reluctant to encourage their children to take part in outdoor activities. This can lead to constant exposure to watching TV all day.

As the answer to this problem, I propose two solutions. First of all, the government should implement robust and intricate policies for children to regulate screen time in schools and at home. Such policies can play a vital role in raising awareness of specific screen- time regulations and appropriate use of digital media. A good example of this is that the Australian government introduced a policy that children are not able to use any digital devices in schools. This can increase physical activity and interaction with peers in nature. Another measure is that teachers and childcare professionals can provide useful information related to children's activities, such as children's nature events, camping club, after and before school outdoor events. That information can support parents ' nurturing system, which can have positive impacts on children's overall daily life.

In conclusion, I have discovered the reasons for a recent trend that children are exposed to TV, the family environment that is exposed to watching TV, and a sedentary routine. To address this issue, I propose that governments should impose a concrete policy to regulate children's screen- time, and schools need to provide helpful information for parents to obtain creative activities for their children