In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some parts of the world, young students are encouraged to take a gap year to work or travel after finishing their high school, before beginning their studies at the university. In my view, although there are cetrain disadvantages to this practice, the benefits are considerably greater for students who decides to work or travel.

One of the main benefits of this practice can be the real world experience. Students who take a one year break have the time to reflect on what they want to pearsue in the future. Many students due to their lack of industry knowledge end up choosing the wrong course in the universiy, while some change it after 1st year, others decides to still continue. This can be avoided if young people decides to take their time to explore the options available to them. For instance, students who work part time in their gap year, gain real expereince by trying various jobs. This in turn helps them to identify their field of intrest. Apart from work, travalling is also valuable. Travalling teaches people to get out of their comfort zone. This can play a crucial role in students overall personal development and helps them face upcoming challenges.

However, despite these benefits, there are certain drawbacks. Travalling can be very expensive, especially for students who are finacially not strong. Students who decides to work also, sometimes face lot of difficulties. Most of the time they don't get the job in their desirable field beacuse of the qualification requirement. Many companies require students to hold a graduate degree. Nevertheless, if young people plan their gap year carefully, these problems can be resolved.

In conclusion, the benefits of taking a gap year to explore the work opportunities and to traval can better prepare young people for their future, while there are some disadvantages as well but they are not that difficult to handle with thoughtfull planning.