Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that history cannot teach us everything in today’s era. While some individuals view history as a key source of information for understanding human experiences. I firmly contend that history plays a vital role in a human’s life. This essay will discuss both perspectives and explain why history assists in shaping a person’s life.

First of all, history provides us with enormous amounts of lessons, cultural references, medical lessons, historical, geographical and economical situations. History shows us the consequences of war, discrimination, economic mismanagement and environmental damage. For example, When COVID-10 emerged, governments and scientists relied heavily on historical data from past pandemics like the 1918 influenza outbreak to combat the disease. Therefore, history has important lessons that help to shape today’s decisions.

On the other hand, the current timespan is quite different from the past. Events from centuries cannot always provide direct solutions to current problems such as cybercrime or artificial intelligence. For instance, historical events like ancient warfare or medieval trade don’t teach us how to stop phishing attacks, ransomware, or data breaches, because the problem didn’t exist before computers. That is why, history cannot fulfill all the modern world problems.

In conclusion, while there are various aspects to consider, I maintain that history is highly valuable, but lessons from the past must be adapted carefully to modern circumstances rather than copied blindly.

We must be considerate of our choices and make decisions accordingly.