People are reading fewer books than ever before What are the causes of this? What measures can be taken to address it?

Nowadays, the majority of people are reading fewer books than they ever did. Many believe it is due to the evolution of technology, which is the main cause of this. Secondly, digital entertainment services are more pleasing to them. To address these issues, institutions should assign a reward system to encourage more students to read books, and they could assign entertaining material like comic books to build a reading habit.

Firstly, the main causes for more teenagers are becoming fewer readers is that, with the introduction of social media platforms and the evolution of technology, digital gadgets, there are new ways to entertain teenagers like interactive entertainment, and virtual reality video games in which teens are more addicted. Secondly, online streaming entertainment platforms are more entertaining than any top rated author books ever could. Furthermore, with digital streaming like Hulu, Prime Video, Netflix, these offer more entertainment options across different content options and additional foreign language content which gets more excitement by the young generation. For example, Korean music and series are most watched by young people than any other demographic group.

On the other hand, to resolve this lack of book readers and encourage more reading, institutions could develop a new strategy for students to get a free grade. Schools can offer a positive reinforcement reward system in which students read one book each week and present their findings by making content around it. Moreover, in this way students can be made aware of new and creative ideas execution and build a habit for reading while making it both interactive and entertaining for the people. Secondly, many schools could assign more entertaining material, like comic books, to build habits. Also, in this way students would be encouraged to do their homework and complete their reading material before due date.

In conclusion, there are several causes that drive the lack of reading but on the other hand, there are some solutions if implemented can drive an increase in reading among people.