University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad overweighs the disadvantages?

The number of students studying abroad has increased significantly, as this is related to their studies. I believe that the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages, which I will elaborate on in my essay below.

Looking first at the merits, we can believe that studying abroad is actually one of many opportunities to develop the skills we have, since many people nowadays feel that their home universities tend not to offer the lessons that companies need. For instance, Indonesia's top-ten universities still do not conduct social data science, which is the study of artificial intelligence in human behaviour, political trends, and public policy. In addition, studying abroad might increase human resources, especially for those who graduate from prestigious universities. These institutions tend to strictly supervise students to be serious in their studies. This could be by giving them a variety of assignments in order to gain insight into almost everything around the world. As a result, once they come home, they easily dominate the conversation among people and understand every aspect and the connections.

Moving to the demerits, it appears that the nationality issue can be seen as the primary drawback of this situation. People who move overseas to study and already have a distinguished career find that they do not want to come back to their home country, since leaving the place they live in means they must leave their prestigious and long-lasting career, high monthly salary, and luxurious life to enhance their neighbourhood communities and start from the very beginning. Moreover, some people tend to have mental issues caused by cultural adaptation, in which sometimes other cultures do not resonate with those people, making them feel out of place and divided. As a result, they are not able to find a connection for a bright career.

To conclude, while some demerits must be considered such as the nationality problem and mental health, it seems that the advantages through opportunities and increasing human resources are so lucrative. This leads each individual to realise that studying abroad can be a better option.