Some people think that university students should not be given exams, and instead should receive a score based on their performance throughout the academic term. Others believe that exams are necessary for learning and discipline, and should always be taken by students at the end of a semester. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are various amounts of ways a university student is accessed throughout the course of a school year. Most curriculums have the students take a final exam at the end of a semester that tests the students ' core understanding of a given topic, it usually takes up 30% of their final grade. The remaining 70% is commonly dictated by the students ' performance throughout the semester with homework, assignments, projects, and attendance being the measurable criteria. People are split on whether a single final exam that takes up almost one-third of the final grade is truly neccessary and that overall performance over the course of the semester should be more valued. I believe both opinions on the matter come with their own flaws, but with improvement, they work well together to access a student's performance.

Accessing a student based on overall performance seems like it wouldn't have many drawbacks. However,in reality, there are many factors that play against the students favor in this type of curriculum. A family emergency or just getting a cold for a week could negatively impact a students final grade when you consider attendance, homework, and other accessments based on a schedule.

On the other hand, a final exam gives the student the oppurtunity to prove their performance through hard work and discipline. Even if they had missed a week due to an emergency of some kind, they can study the material themselves and prove it on the final exam.

However, it is obvious that grading a students learning from an entire semester on one single exam is not the solution. It is impossible to grade the extensive amount of material a student studied on a couple sheets of paper. Thus, creating the need for the before-mentioned accessments based on homework, attendance, and assignments. They are tools that can show a student's understanding of a subject outside of the final exam.

In conclusion, a student must be accessed based on their overall performance throughout the semester and on a final exam that solidifies that performance. Attendance, homework, assignments, and exams all work together to create a clear picture of a student's performance, they improve on each others setbacks.