In some cultures, children are often told that they can achive anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There are places in the world where children are told that if they want to make their dreams come true, they just have to work hard enough. In this essay I will express the advantages and disadvantages of this message.

Firstly, I believe its important to instill a mindset into their kids that anything is possible. That if they are born with certain physical limitations that doesn't mean they have to give up their dreams. Therefore there are advantages if parents support their youngsters and encourage them to work hard and to not give up just because they experienced some disappointments. In my eyes, the problem or the disadvantage is that the youth of today thinks they can do everything instead of anything. Unsurprisingly they believes that whatever they set their mind on they are supposed to succeed on. However, all of us are unique human beings and have qualities that we are born with and if we follow our gifts we are born with we indeed follow our heart. Therefore the message of just working hard is in my eyes misleading. Working hard is not enough, especially today where we are replaced by AI. On the contrary, I believe that the message is creating a mindset to struggel through instead of following our values and what is true for us.

Overall all I believe it needs a good mix of both, while the mindset of working hard is certainly boosting determination and resilience on one hand. On the other hand, constant striving and producing can lead to pressure and burn-outs. Therefore, a good mix is important, and to encourage our next generation while also allowing them to not be too hard on themselves.