Nowadays, some people choose to have their first child at an older age. Do the advantages of having children at an older age outweigh the disadvantages?

An increasing amount of parents is deciding to have their first child when they are already older. In this essay I will express the the advantages and disadvantages of having kids later in life.

Suprisingly, more and more parents are deciding to have children when they are older. One of the advantages is that the soon to become parents are financially more stable and they also have gained more life experience. Furthermore, they are hopefully more mature themselves and are able to be emotionally and mentally more present for their newborn. Having later kids also means that most probably they will also have less children which financially will be cheaper in the long run.

However, having children later in life also has disadvantages. For example, young kids are powerhouses and require a tremendous amount of energy which will not be easy for older parents to provide. Furthermore, the older the mother gets the harder it will be biologically to have a brother or a sister for the firsborn, if that is wished for. Healthwise, later pregnancies come with an increased risk and might require special medical care which can be very expensive or even risky.

Overall, waiting longer to become a parent can be a very wise decision since they can provide more emotional and financial stability for their kids. On the other side, especially since health is declining it can be risky especially while giving birth. Nevertheless, I see that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages to have children at a later in life.