Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Nowadays, certain people think that students should not be given homework, while others believe that it plays a significant role in school curriculum. Although, homework can improve the knowledge and educational capability of the student, but spending an excessive amount of duration in studies can affect mental health and cause fatigue.

Parents generally think that, studying for longer hours at home, makes their kid smart and help get better grades. This is true to an extent, where students are studying and revisioning their syllabus that they studied trying to retain previous information. Homework aids the student with much more clarity and knowledge of the concept and makes them confident in academic tests. Eventhough, revision sessions at home could help academically, if these are not managed properly, it can affect the mental health of the child. This can cause stress, lack of focus, and eventually fatigue which can affect his physical abilities too. For instance, In India schools have a study plan for almost 10-11 hours everyday which is an extensively tiring schedule for students, espeacially if they had to do homework too.

According to my opinion, I would prefer their study schedule to be managed with short breaks, which would help the students relax for a bit before continuing their studies at home. Also, parents should realize that mental and physical health of the young childrens are more important than academic acheivements and more attention is provided to complete well-being of the child.

In conclusion, I opine that a more relaxed mind can focus better and spending a lot of time in studies and doing homework after a long day at school can affect mental well-being of the kid.