Students should be allowed to choose academic courses or practical courses, e.g carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that students should be able to choose between academic and practical courses. I completely agree with the previous statement, since I believe that everyone, especially young people, should follow their passions and inclinations.

On one hand, some might argue that academic courses give an easier access to a wider range of careers. While this was partialy true in the past, nowadays competition in every field is higher than it used to be. For instance, graduating from business school, does not ensure to be employed, while a rising number of graduates ends up jobless or underpaid. Moreover, people who work in a practical field, like carpenters or plumbers, are growing in demand and have similar salaries.

Furthermore, I believe that students should choose a course following their passions. In fact, if students were to choose a field of study only according to its career prospect, they would definitely struggle more, making the academic choice counterproductive. For example, choosing medical school only because of the future high salary, makes the course unberable and almost impossible to finish, since interest is lacking.

In addition, people should not be ashamed of choosing a practical course, if they think it is their passion. It is well known that nowadays there is a stigma on practical jobs, which are less regarded than academic ones. I think awareness should be raised on this issue, to facilitate young people during the decision making process. As a result, whether the decision will fall on an academic or a practical course, the sadisfaction and recognition will be the same.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that academic and practical courses have the same value, for both job prospects and personal achievement. Therefore, students should choose freely according to their passions.