Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich and poor, while others believe that it is widening the opportunities for both groups. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is ongoing consencus that the recent development of technology will increase imbalances between the rich and the poor. To me, even though some advanced technology cannot be accessed by poor people, I believe that more affordable technology would give more opportunities to increase underprivileged people to improve their quality of life.

One one hand, one of the strongest argument that tech might boost gaps between rich and poor people is because of its accessibility and affordability. It is of course that more sophisticated technology are expensive and it makes most poor people cannot afford it. As a result, it can also affect their performance in some contexts. For example, in school, rich students can buy better performing laptop for many educational purposes, such as programming and video-editing. Whereas, poor students would have limited performances over such tech-related heavy task.

On the other hand, despite this affordability issues, a cheaper technology such as smartphone nowadays is sufficient to use for other performances. Almost no one cannot afford smartphone, and even the cheapest device is possible to perform tech related works. Take an example, a smartphone can be used to create contents like youtuber or social media influencer. Even better, this device is surprisingly incredible to perform video-editing using mobile-dedicated apps. Starting from simple contents, if done consistently and creatively, poor individuals can possibly monetise their accounts, gaining money from ads. That is to say, the poor will earn money independently and finally improve their quality of life.

In conclusion, in spite of scepticism over technological enhancement to widen the poor and the rich gaps, more opportunites should be expect from this development. Technology is only a tool, it depends on how each individuals in using available equipments - even a simpler one - to find every spots for improvements.