Robots and AI are being developed to replce humans in workplace. Why is this happening? Do you think this will have a positive or negative impact on society?

There has been a growing discussion among people around the world that such automated mechines - like artificial intellegents and robots - will replace humans at work. This is happening because there are, indeed, some jobs that does not require human's emotion and conciousness. However, I believe that this advancement could bring more positive impacts than its drawbacks in society.

The basic idea of using autonomous machinary is to help humans work effectively and efficiently. Such simple-task jobs that do not require critical thinking and human involvement can be helped by machines. For example, jobs related to administration and data inputting are now massively being taken by such advanced tools trained by machine learning engineers. But, there are some areas that is impossible to be performed by robots such as psychologists. Psychological-related fields require human conciousness, especially, in performing therapy. Machine will never replace humans in this aspects because they lack emotions and compassions - the most vital factors in counselling.

Although it sparks debates over its negative side, I believe that these hi tech will help more people in improving their soft skills and knowledge. For instance, experts fear the existence of AI will cause cognitive decline in human's brain. It is because many people tend to let AI search and think for them, which they no longer fully use their cognitive efforts as hardly as they used to be. However, this issues can be tackled by giving people enough education to use AI ethically and effectively. They need to be guided in taking an advantage of AI to improving their soft skills such as using AI for proofreading and brainstorming. Such actions has been done by many universities in the UK, in which, instead of forbiding students to use generative AI, educational institutions create guidelines to support their study.

In conclusion, the purpose of developing current autonomous hi tech is necesarily to help humans work more efficiently. In my perspective, the positive impacts will outnumber its negative side effects as long as it is regulated properly.