An increasing number of countries are moving towards becoming cashless societies where all financial transactions are conducted digitally. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh disadvantages?

Due to the breakthrough in technology, doing financial transactions digitally has become a popular trend among a large number of countries. I believe that this trend has far more advantages than its drawbacks.

Online banking system offers several benefits to individuals and it can be used for multi purposes. The main pro is that it is not only convenient but also the safest option for financial transactions. To explain it, nowadays, everyone prefers to use cards, such as debit, credit, ATM and MasterCard because they consider that these are easy to carry than cash for them. Apart from this, they can use their cards while adding in mobile phone wallet instead of carrying a physical card. As a result, they have less fear of losing a card.

Moving further, with the help of online banking systems, people can save their quality time because they do not need to travel from one place to another. In addition, they do not need to stand in a long queue, which is totally wastage of time. Also, these days, every bank has its own banking app so individuals can register and finish the work through the online banking apps including deposit, transfer money, fault pay bills, for instance.

70% young people prefer using digital mode of transferring money from one account to another, they are quite satisfied with this innovation and method.

However, there are some disadvantages of doing financial transaction digitally. An obvious one is that overspending of money because when people use digital payment methods, money become invisible, which makes it much easier to overspend money. While, if people buy something with cash, they know how much they have spent and how much money they have left. Consequently, they usually invest money on necessary things rather than spending on unnecessary things.

It is sensible to conclude that although digital payment methods can lead to overspending, cash payments help people control their spending. I strongly believe that this trend has more benefits, including saving of time, convenience and safest for people.