Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a wast of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extend do you agree with this statement.

It is undeniable that debates has sparked around the world that funding arts -related sectors such as fillms, music and theatre is a wasting taxpayer money. In contrast, others argue that allocate more funds in public services is more crucial. From my perspective, I partly disagree with the first view because even though improving public sectors is number one priority, funding in the arts can also bring nation's developments.

Although investing in public services is the most important thing to the people immediately, arts remain important in some aspects. First, building creative industries will open more job markets and it indeed requires serious support from government, particularly in funding relevant artistic industries. For example, South Korea has been becoming one of the most succesful role model in promoting their cultures through music (K-pop) and movies (Korean-drama). Since then, a massive amount of money has been gained by these industries and this is directly increase citizens income and quality of life.

However, I understand the sentiment that goverment must provide more services to public because the impact will be more comprehensive. Public services can be utilised by wider range of backgrounds, regardless of their interests. While arts, arguably, can only be enjoyed by individuals who work in creative-related jobs or such aesthetic companies. For example, spending tax money to build cheaper housing and public transportation will absolutely beneficial for everyone directly because many people can save more money. That is to say, improving such public services will reduce the burdens of more diverse society. Thus, the investments on the most fundamental aspects of people - public services - will certainly boost individuals' welfare.

In conclusion, I do not entirely agree that spending public funds to arts is useless, though providing services to broader people must be prioritised. Both views has its own benefits and drawbacks depending on its country's unique issues. Therefore, public funds should be managed wisely, by considering the nation's master plan in order to improve their poeple's life.