More and more people use private motorbikes or cars instead of taking public transport. What are the reasons for this trend? How can the government encourage people to take public transport? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A growing number of public prefer to use their private vehicles instead of utilising mass trasportation.

There are some reasons related to transport's converage area and the unaffordable prices, and this essay will provide some relevant solutions to encourage people using more public transport.

The common issue in taking trains or buses for commuting is because of its expensive price. Such high fares in big cities are becoming unreachable for working-class community, tight with their other spending daily. This makes some people think to get their own vehicle which is worth-saving money. Furthermore, unlike in metropolitan cities, the public transport coverage in smaller towns is sometimes not well connected. Not to mention that many roads do not support pedestrian facilities and make individuals concern about their safety to walk to stations. As a result, these factors lead some people in considering options to drive their own cars.

Several measures can be implemented by the government to persuade more corwds in using mass transportation. First, in big cities, tickets can be subsidised for productive-age workers because they commute more than the other age groups such as elderly and kids. By giving frequent commuters a discount scheme, more people will potentially be encouraged to take public transport. Secondly, in small towns, expanding public transport routes is very crucial, including building pedestrian routes to guarantee the safety of the residents. Furthermore, to prevent individuals driving their own cars, the governments can take an example from cities like London in which they increase the parking fee very highly and applying zonal area charges - such as Ultra Low Emission Zone and congestion charge. These measures combined has been implemented by several developed countries and they have succeded to build public habits in reducing tendency to use private vehicles.

In conclusion, the high ticket price and routes' coverage are the main reasons of why public trasport are less favoured. However, three actions imitating currently developed countries that has been discussed above should be taken into consideration.