Write an essay using all the notes and giving reasons for your point of view. A lot of young people take a gap year before they start university. Do you think this is a good or a bad thing?

It is undeniable that the younger generation has a lot of pressure while they are deciding their future studies. Nowadays, a lot of them opt for taking a gap year before they start their education in universities. In my opinion, I believe it is not a bad idea to take some time before university if students ise it well, whereas some people would disagree with it.

First and foremost, students taking their time before moving to higher education is a good idea since it can offer them clarity and confidence about their decision. For example, instead of rushing and making wrong choices, they get to take some time off and be clear. Moreover, in the meantime, they can experiment with something they are more interested in and gain some skills that could be helpful in their future, for instance, working in a mechanic shop or as an assistant in other IT fields which could help them choose a course later or build skills for their further studies. Thus, a gap can be better if younger generation has a job or a course plan for the meantime.

However, it is not always favourable to put some time in between high school and college because it can lead to loss of motivation in some children. Also, they can lose their academic momentum when they are sitting at home doing nothing school-related for a year or so. It is clear that starting a year later means that they will finish a year later, which will delay their earnings as well, so, unless they have funds saved, they can face financial strain and reduce their lifetime earning potential.

In conclusion, I believe that youngsters should be allowed to take a year gap before major studies, but the negative impacts must be kept an eye on. In order to keep them on the right path, there should be proper guidance for them so that they don't have to regret any decisions in their future.