some children spend hours every day on thair smartphones. why is this case?do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is an undeniable fact that the younger generations are more attracted to devices such as phones and computers. Nowadays, it has been seen that the children spend a lot of time on smartphones either to play online games or watch entertaining videos. In my opinion, I believe that, this has a lot of negative impacts on children as compared to the positives, whereas some might believe otherwise.

Firstly, youngsters spending majority of their time on phone can be due to multiple different reasons such as parental ignorance, a good distraction or a way to learn new things. It is clear that parents have very busy schedules these days, and in between managing everything, some might find it difficult to make playful time for their children. As a result, they are likely to offer smartphones to the kids to keep them busy and entertained. However, it is often considered a good idea to promote the online learning in young kids to teach themselves new skills. Therefore, they tend to use the online platforms available on the internet to educate themselves and this automatically results in more screen time.

Moving on, a lot of screen time can affect physical development in early years and limit cognitive development as well. For example, when kids use too much of smartphones, it can strain their eyes because the rays can have bad impact on eyes, which could lead to loss of eyesight in future. Moreover, they are less likely to participate in physical activities,which can affect their overall development. Also, this habit would restrict them to get involved in activities such as board games and puzzles,which would boost their logical reasoning, problem solving skills and strong memory.

In conclusion, it is clear that children spending too much time on their phones can face serious developmental issues. Although, there are great benefits such as learning new skills online but it should be promoted only under adult supervision to avoid negative impacts.