Test and examinations are a central feature of school system in many countries. Do you think educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

There has been great debate on whether or not examinations are crucial to the education system in any country. This essay proposes that though exams have their disadvantages, they are still a vital part of the school system. If conducted right, exams accurately test a student's knowledge on a certain topic and promote studying as well.

One of the biggest criticisms of tests is that it doesn' t provide full context for a student's academic profile. However, I believe that an exam score does indeed accurately depict a pupil's academic abillity in most circumstances. A higher grade means there was more work and studying behind it, while a lower one suggests there was less effort put into studying. A well designed exam can definetly accurately test the examinee.

Furthermore, examinations give the proper motivation needed for learning. If a student has an upcoming exam, they are more likely to study harder and more vigourosly compared to a one who doesn' t. For example, the cambridge A-level exams doesn' t exclusively test a student on pure memorization; it forces them to use that knowledge and apply to real life, thus improving their problem solving skills and further enriching their academic knowledge; increasing the need to study more. On the other hand, a pupil who decides to not give the exam, only learning through the coursebook might not experience the need to work harder on their academics, as they don' t have the motivation to achieve a higher grade.

In conclusion, a well designed and accurately conducted examination helps the students taking them by allowing tem to apply their learnt knowledge and even giving them motivation to study well.