Task 2: Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do you think the disadvantages of private health care outweigh the advantages?

In recent years, privately-operated health sevices have been a popular alternative to public health care agencies. Personally, despite their drawbacks, I would argue that more private medical services should be provided on the basis of their evident merits. On the one hand, private medical treatment has its own negative impacts. The biggest drawback to private-owned hospitals is the exorbitant cost patients have to pay. When governments do not introduce restrictions on such costs, many private institutions set high fees for services such as prescriptions charges or using high-tech machines in the operating theatre, which effectively discriminates against those on low or modest incomes who cannot afford the costs for care and treatment. Additionally, as the ultimate aim of these agencies is to gain profits, it is possible that they will focus more on quantity rather than quality. With seemingly less qualified and less experienced medical practitioners, private hospitals might not come up to patients’ expectations. On the other hand, there are justifiable reasons why privately-run health care institutions should be made available. Firstly, they provide faster services, unlike public health services where there is often a long waiting list. Therefore, it is less time-consuming for either patients with life-threatening diseases or those coming for aregular regular check-up to get the treatment they want. Secondly, private healthcare institutions could be a practical alternative to state-funded ones in remote areas. If more of these agencies were established in less accessible regions, more people would be able to enjoy improved health care, especially those from minority groups who barely receive any primary health care at present. In conclusion, despite the drawbacks of medical services being provided by profit-making corporations, I believe the benefits outweigh the disadvantages and that people should take out private health insurance for better access to health care.