Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Developed countries have been providing financial aid to the third world countries for decades, but it has not changed the economic situation of the poor countries. I totally agree that this aid should be replaced by other more effective types of help and I will discuss the reasons in the paragraphs below. The primary reason why the financial aid provided by the first world countries is not being effective in achieving the results they are intended to achieve is because of the level of corruption prevalent in these poor countries. The major portion of the aid a public promotion of some product or service ad is taken by the officials before it trickles down to the people. As most of these leaders are not democratically elected and have a strong grip on power, people have little leverage to change this and hence they benefit less and their situations remain unchanged. The second reason why this financial aid is not effective is because the governments which are the recipients of this assistance do not have sound economic policies and good governance in place. This means that these governments are not capable of managing the funds properly and the aid will be lost or misused before it reaches the people. Therefore, ensuring governments are capable of managing the funds before they receive them is crucial in achieving positive outcomes from this financial aid. In conclusion, I believe financial aid is often misused by recipient countries due to corruption and financial mismanagement. Therefore, other types of support should be given to these countries.